KUDOS to our area schools!! Six schools in Southeast Washington are celebrating their notification as 2017 Schools of Distinction.

Educational Service District 123 was notified of its regional winners who have made outstanding improvements in reading and math. the following schools where awarded  Dayton Elementary, Hawthorne Elementary (Kennewick), Wahitis Elementary (Othello), Pasco High School, Paterson Elementary, and Waitsburg Elementary.

The School of Distinction award recognizes schools in the top 5% of improvement for their levels. Of the six regional schools, four are repeat winners, with Paterson Elementary taking home its 4th School of Distinction Award.

ESD 123 Superintendent, Mr. Darcy Weisner, is proud to congratulate these schools for their well-deserved recognition.

"These awards both validate and highlight the need for continued support of the efforts being made each day in our classrooms," states Superintendent Weisner. "We congratulate the staff, students, leaders, and communities for their unfailing dedication to helping each student become successful."

More From 98.3 KEYW